The thrill of a snowy day in New York

How good can a day get when you wake up on a Monday morning and the sky is grey? What follows is the description of a typical -every other day- day in New York City. It’s late, 8:30, I am still in bed and the sky is grey – it’s snowing. Did I mention it’s January?  So, no surprise there. Only that is was plus ten Celsius yesterday and will probably be again tomorrow. Hm, snow is not so bad… By the time I leave the house, of course as always worried about my looks, so I had decided to wear the black pair of lace-ups matching the color of my sweater (I could have worn the brown boots, but – well, they did not match…) the snow is melting. Melting snow…uuui, should I go up to the sixth floor and get my boots? Hm, should work out without….The hurdle at the first corner is taken, only 12 more, one for each block. Ankle deep, ice cold water at each crossing.

p1020458p1020459

My mind is usually set on automatic on the way to work  – walk up to 96th, cross to Madison Ave and then up north. Today I end up taking a completely different route, guided by the choices of maybe less deep waters straight or to the left.  Further obstacles in the form of non-swept sidewalks call my attention.

p1020457

Right, why would anyone shovel the snow in front of their door. Must be German habit -obey the law. This might be the opportunity to mention that everyone, literally everyone, whether old with a walking stick or young with kids crosses at red traffic lights. Even with cops standing RIGHT in front of you. I’ve seen a cop guiding kids over a red light saying ‘Well, it not green, but there’s no car so you can walk’!!!!Anyway, back to the snow –

I managed to get to work, it took me only twice as long as usual and my feet where only semi wet. Smart me, I tucked up my pants up to my shin – so much for the good looks…. so at least those were dry.

Leave a Reply

